Many creative and committed individuals have been involved in Leading from the Heart

For all of the loving labor and sweat, we give thanks!

Facilitator Biographies

Portrait of Natasha Aruliah

Natasha Aruliah

Natasha worked as an advocate, activist and change agent both within organizations as well as independently, in the UK, Canada and internationally, for over 20 years. Trained as a counseling psychologist, Natasha’s passion is supporting individuals and groups to develop emotional and cultural competence to be able to engage fully and with compassion in difficult conversations across power differences, that promotes healing and social justice. She now works as a consultant and facilitator in all areas of diversity, social justice, equity, and inclusion. In addition, she is on faculty and facilitates courses at University of British Columbia’s Centre for Intercultural Communication and the Justice Institute of BC’s Department of Counseling and Community Safety.

Portrait of Dr. Robin DiAngelo

Dr. Robin DiAngelo

Dr. DiAngelo is a former Associate Professor of Education. She is a two-time winner of the Student’s Choice Award for Educator of the Year. Her scholarship is in White Racial Identity and Race Relations. In addition to her academic work, Dr. DiAngelo has extensive experience as a workplace consultant in issues of race relations and racial justice. She was appointed to co-design, develop and deliver the City of Seattle’s Race and Social Justice Initiative. She has numerous publications and just completed the 2nd edition of her book, “What Does it Mean to be White?: Developing White Racial Literacy. Her work on White Fragility has been featured in Alternet,, NPR, KUOW, and Colorlines.

Portrait of LeAnne Moss

LeAnne Moss

LeAnne is the Co-Founder of Leading from the Heart (LFTH) based in Seattle, and is also the Executive Director of the Renton Regional Community Foundation. With more than 20 years of experience as an executive director for social change organizations, LeAnne understands the demands, rigors and joys of working for social and racial justice. In addition to co-facilitating interracial workshops and retreats, LeAnne has done 1:1 coaching and facilitates white affinity groups. Prior to starting LFTH, LeAnne spent nearly 15 years at the helm of the Seattle-based Women’s Funding Alliance and founded and directed a micro-enterprise organization in Michigan.

Portrait of Victoria Santos

Victoria Santos

Victoria designs and facilitates group processes in community, organizational and school settings, often with a racial equity focus. Her approach emphasizes compassionate presence and creative pathways that help cultures to evolve. She delights in sensing the energy and opportunities available in groups, and guiding authentic communication for healing and discovery. Victoria’s commitment to social justice and service into has expressed itself in many forms over the past 25 years: school-based counseling, community enrichment programs for underserved youth, sustainable development and community organizing in the U.S. and internationally.

Thank You

Special recognition also goes to Gloria Burgess, Christine Cruz Guiao, April Nishimura, Kavitha Rao, Joel Levey, Yarrow Durbin, Taj Johns, Adrienne Maree Brown, who provided guidance during the design process.

Advisory and Governing Committee

Lupita Torrez

Executive Director, Para Los Ninos

Andrea Caupain

CEO, Cornerstone

Bill Grace

Leadership facilitator, teacher, and consultant

Marcos Martinez

Executive Director, Casa Latina

LeAnne Moss

See bio above

Victoria Santos

See bio above

Early Volunteers

Many people were involved in a variety of ways during our first phase of planning and thinking. Special recognition goes to Donna Bellew for co-chairing our first Advisory Committee and assisting with the assessment interviews. Others who have been involved in some way – whether collective conversation or committee work — and who aren’t listed above include: Bill Aal, Karen G. Anderson, Lupita Ayon, Susan Balbas, Jane Barry, Elsa Batres-Boni, Jill Blair, Evie Boykan, Beth Brent, Carol Brown, Mary Kay Chess, Sharon Daloz Parks, Julie Edsforth, Barbara Fane, Scott Garrepy, Lynn Hagerman, Alissa Haslam, Briana Herman-Brand, Lillian Hewko, Andrew Himes, Heather Johnson, LaJuana Johnson, Annie Jones-Barnes, Bill Koenig, Steve Lansing, Ashley Leasure, Michelle Levey, Marcos Martinez, Julie Nelson, Dale Nienow, Christa Mazzone Palmberg, Wendy Nakatsukasa-Ono, April Pace, Todd Paglia, Laura Pierce, Liezl Rebugio, Valerie Reuther, Denise Rhiner, Gibran Rivera, Amy Schottenstein, Theron Shaw, Sharyne Shiu-Thornton, Beverly Spears, Anne Tillery, Pradeepta Upadhyay, Greg Welch, Dan Whitelaw Harris, and Ada Williams Prince.

And thanks to the Center for Courage and Renewal and Cardea, both of which served as early fiscal sponsors.

We apologize if we missed someone and hope you will contact us to let us know!

Our Supporters

We are so grateful to our supporters who understand the importance of investing in social change leaders who are working for a more just, sustainable, healthy and compassionate community.

Donna and Matthew Bellew
Jill Blair and Fay Twersky
Evie Boykan
Bobbe and Jon Bridge
Kim and Peter Cacace
Terry and Jane Chadsey
Sharon Daloz Parks
Yarrow Durbin
Janine Firpo
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Matching Program
Scott and Jennifer Garrepy
Ginny Gilder and her family foundation
Bill and Sandy Grace
Phyllis Hatfield
William and Flora Hewlett Foundation Matching Program
Hidden Leaf Foundation
Arlys Hill
Cheryl and Richard Hood
Kate Janeway
Carolyn Kelly
Kirkpatrick Family Foundation
Kongsgaard-Goldman Foundation
Leadership Tomorrow via Carolyn Kelly
Lucky Seven Foundation
Lynn Manley and Lex Lindsey

Edith Middleton
Alene Moris
Elaine Nonneman
Nancy Nordhoff
Rebecca Norlander
Kathy O’Driscoll
Para Los Ninos
Kathleen Pierce
Laura Pierce
Teresa Posakony
Purple Crayon Foundation
Pyramid Communications
Quixote Foundation
Tracy Robinson and Catherine Thomas
Francie Rutherford
Satterberg Foundation
Amy Schottenstein
Gary Tabasinske
Peggy Taylor
Maggie and Doug Walker
The Whitman Institute
Richard Woo

In-Kind Support

Karen G. Anderson (web production), Donna Bellew, David Bishop (photography),Jim (photography), Centerstone, Thomas Crum & Associates, Yarrow Durbin, Karen Jensen, Linksbridge, Robin Lorenzini, Michael B. Maine (photography), Keith McKandless, Monica Payson, Fisher Qua,Tutta Bella, Whidbey Institute, Nancy White, Rose Yu.

Contact Us

Get in touch! We would love to hear from you.

8 + 6 =


Subscribe to the newsletter to stay up to date! 

Share This